About our Community

Following the 2022 State Election, the Ashwood District replaced the abolished electorates of Mount Waverley and Burwood. These changes take place every 8 years to ensure each district has approximately the same number of enrolled voters, giving Victorians equal representation in Parliament.

The new Ashwood District includes the suburbs of:

  • Ashburton
  • Ashwood
  • Burwood
  • Burwood East
  • Camberwell
  • Chadstone
  • Glen Iris
  • Mount Waverley

You can use the EBC's interactive map tool to see the electoral boundaries and check which region and district you reside in. 

The Ashwood District is situated on the lands of the Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung and Bunurong Boon Wurrung peoples of the Kulin nation - the proud traditional custodians for over 40,000 years.

Our community is a vibrant and diverse one in Melbourne’s east, and half of its residents were born overseas or have parents who were born overseas. This area is nicknamed “the Centre of the Universe” (Chinese: “宇宙中心”) for its bustling shopping strips and ample community organisations.

It is home to many great local schools that do an outstanding job of educating our future leaders.

Matt Fregon MP moved to Mount Waverley with his wife, Rebecca, and daughter in 2010, and has proudly continued to raise his family in our wonderful community. Before his election to the Legislative Assembly in 2018, Matt ran a small I.T. business on High Street Road, Glen Iris for over a decade.